Daily Archives: August 4, 2006

This is just amazing.Back in May, my sister and I …

This is just amazing.

Back in May, my sister and I went out to get some perennials to plant. Perennials are flowers or plants that don’t die after their season is over. They bloom or grow every year. I got some sedum and stuff.

Then we went and got some herbs – basil and flat parsley – and I picked up a four tomato plants. Got home, got everything planted in containers on the deck and then our neighbor came over to borrow our wheelbarrow.

Our neighbor is a pretty cool guy. He just doesn’t own a wheelbarrow and has no plans to ever own one. We didn’t really care about him borrowing it because we weren’t using it and it’s kind of nice to know that a tool is being useful to SOMEONE.

When he returned the wheelbarrow, he brought over two zucchini plants, four pepper plants and five more tomato plants. “Thanks for letting us borrow the wheelbarrow. Here are some vegetable plants. If you can use them, great, I was just going to throw them out because I didn’t have enough space to plant them.”

Well neither did I… so I dug up an area near the deck and in went the vegetables.

Now it’s August and this is what I got!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening

48 days And I’ve done nothing but watch what I’m …

48 days

And I’ve done nothing but watch what I’m eating.

In any case, Erika is inItaly – been there since Saturday the 29th and will hopefully be there until the 12th of August. Unfortunately, Nate’s grandmother died and he may want to come back for the funeral on Tuesday. His grandfather told him to stay but I wouldn’t blame him either way.
They’ve been staying in a castle in Umbria and she’s been to Florence, had a cooking class at the castle, a full body massage… She is very fortunate to be on this trip. I can’t wait for our trip…

This picture is from our trip in 2004. It was taken from a window in the Uffizi Gallery in Florence

I think we should start making our train reservations and also start reserving our museum trips… Not too many museums… I’m really interested in people and love to watch the interactions.

This is a picture taken in the little town of Gaiole in Chianti. We stayed on the grounds of a castle in that town in 2004. It wasn’t a particularly sunny day, but people were out and about it was either 5:00 pm or 10:00 am depending on whether the camera was on Italian time or Eastern! (I think it was morning…) People were out and about and it’s just such a peaceful place.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Italy, Life, Vacation Practice