Daily Archives: August 13, 2006

October 1, 2006 Departure

So, comes the morning. We awake at 5:30 and, having showered the night before, dress quickly, pack, make a last sweep of the apartment and decide to start calling taxis. Well, as Dooner said in a comment in the first post, there’s no making phone calls in Italy. Really, the pay phones are ridiculous. Most of the time they don’t work, the other half of the time, they don’t work. We tried eight phones in the space of three blocks going up and down the Via Aurelia. None of them would work.

Kick into Plan B mode!

With the speed of Mercury, we decide to track down the elusive 64 bus…. And guess what??? We saw it making a turn right in front of us and heading for the stop in the next block. Shel yelled, “Let’s go!” and made a dash for it. He jumped on board and was surprised to see that I was right behind him! Hey, I DID run a marathon once!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Italian Adventure, Italy, Rome

39 Days. Well, Erika comes home tonight. Sue and …

39 Days.

Well, Erika comes home tonight. Sue and I will travel to the airport to pick her up. I’m very interested in what she has to say about her trip. I hope she’s coherent when we get there!
Went out and looked for appropriate shoes today. I have so many issues with my feet and I really want to be able to keep up with everyone. I’ve also been checking zappos.com for ideas.
Mostly, today I’m tired. I’d really like to spend some time figuring out packing and stuff but it exhausts me just to think about it. I have clothes to fold and zero ambition.
Maybe I’ll take a nap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Italy