Late

35 years ago I was waiting expectantly for the birth of our first and, may I add, only child. This was the day set by the doctor when he ciphered out the due date. As it turned out, our son was three days late. It wasn’t a big deal. First children are often late.

Had he been born today, he would have shared a birthday with people like Wilbur Wright, Charlie Chaplin, Peter Ustinov, Henry Mancini, Herbie, Mann, Dusty Springfield Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Martin Lawrence.

On Saturday, he’ll be 34 which alternately freaks me out and excites me. It seems like just yesterday – oh whatever – you totally get it, right?

So he shares the day with TIm Curry, Paloma Picasso, Jayne Mansfield, Dudley Moore, Al Unser Jr., Ashley Judd, Hayden Christensen and Maria Sharapova.

I have a recurring dream that I’m in school, its the end of the semester and I’m late for an exam – an exam for a class that I’ve never attended. I can’t even find the classroom.

I’m not sure what this means but I’m glad I have a 34 year old son – even though that can’t possibly be the right age?

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Life

3 responses to “Late

  1. We are never the age we’re suppose to be. But that’s a good thing, right?

    It’s also a good thing, I don’t take no for an answer, my feed said you were private but I kept checking anyway. I couldn’t imagine not reading your posts everyday. They make me smile.

    I love the new new look.

  2. I was private for a little while – wanted to try the new look and re-organize stuff. I’m not great at organizing so reorganizing seemed like the way to go! ;-)

  3. I don’t have that late-for-an-exam dream, but I sort-of lived it. I was late giving an exam when I was teaching. Ran every red light on Delaware Ave and made it just before class ended. I gave them the exam to take home. What could I do? And once in college I missed an exam completely. I went to the wrong exam on the wrong day. Sat down with sharpened pencils … had to get up, squeeze out of the aisle, sheepishly hand wrong exam back to TA, then run to my professor’s office to see about a make-up exam. He gave it to me. It’s a wonder I don’t have test anxiety nightmares.

Leave a Reply

