God Only Knows

awA couple of weeks ago I was feeling a little out of sorts. I grew out of that funk and embraced the hustle and bustle of the season. I didn’t bake or send out Christmas cards again. And I don’t feel like a failure. I actually feel ok with how little and how much I accomplished.

I spent an inordinate amount of time preparing music for A Festival of Lessons and Carols which we presented at the high school. At one point on my older blog post, I mentioned that I loved what I was doing but I felt like the rehearsals were a challenge – me against them. In the end, I was pleased with the result of all the hard work. The students were amazing – vocalists and instrumentalists. They worked hard and long hours to accomplish a performance that was way beyond what I had ever imagined possible. That music was difficult for their age level.

I waited until this afternoon to rehearse the group for Christmas Eve Mass. We have 12 instrumentalists: Tuba, 3 Trombones, Baritone Horn, Alto Sax, Clarinet, Flute, 2 Trumpets, Violin. Cello, 2 guitars, 7 vocalists, and a pianist. If Mass goes as well as our rehearsal, it will be heavenly. Again, I spent hours arranging and rearranging parts for that mix of instruments. I will estimate over 40 hours spent on music for both the Festival and Christmas Eve. Not counting rehearsals. And these instrumentalists range in age from 7th grade to, well, I guess I’m the oldest so we’ll leave it at that. Again music that is not easy at all for that age group.

You can go to this page and click any of the three mp3s to listen to some of the music we’ve been preparing.  It’s not us, it’s the 2003 Loyola University Choir performing at their Festival of Lessons and Carols. Those songs, particularly Great Joy and Ave Maria have gotten me through some rough moments while I’ve waited for the days to start getting longer again!

Oh and that little ceramic tree in the picture above – that’s a gift from THEM as in me against them. Yep, the students presented that little beauty the day of the concert. Caught me completely offguard. Made my Christmas….

A Merry one to you all.

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “God Only Knows

  1. Wow, I’m impressed. I’d say dedicating yourself and your time to those kids is time much better spend than baking and filling out cards. Good luck at mass, I’m sure they will sound wonderful, and me I’m fully impressed with you.

    Have a Merry Christmas.

  2. The kids are truly the ones that are impressive. They are extremely talented musicians who placate their old aunt by doing this gig and one at Easter. My “family” has extended to our neighbors and their friends who also call me Aunt Peg. It cracks me up.
    There are also the kids that show up every week for Mass, 2 amazing pianists/singers, the cellist and the violinist.
    I can’t believe that they sound as wonderful as they sound. They are truly a blessing and their music is, admittedly, my favorite Christmas gift.

  3. windydarling

    I have about two minutes’ of awake left after just getting back from midnight mass, but I wanted to say Merry Christmas now as I will be lapsing into a holiday coma tomorrow around noon.

    So before I forget: mwah to you and yours! Have a great one!

  4. Merry Christmas ! Hope your day is wonderful and full of magic !

Leave a Reply

