If You Please

There’s something that’s been bothering me. It didn’t start recently. It’s been bothering me for a couple of years. WHY DON’T PEOPLE RESPOND?

I entertain occasionally and it never ceases to amaze me. People just don’t respond. Do they assume that I know they’re attending? Or does their lack of a response mean that I assume they’re not attending?

I also do stuff that requires commitment and rehearsing. I usually send out emails to a group of folks and await their reply. And await. And await. And await. I arrange music for this group and that takes a good deal of my time… an unbelievable amount of time… sometimes as many as a dozen parts.  I would never know unless I hunt each person down and ask them specifically if they can make a performance or rehearsal and even then it’s sketch. At the last minute, I often find myself scurrying to re-write parts because someone I counted on, never  gave me a definite answer. That’s why I wrap presents on Christmas morning.

We recently got asked to do something special but in its specialness it also requires a huge time commitment. I got a couple of responses… not enough to know whether accepting the gig would represent the whole group appropriately. I sent follow ups and I asked for a response – yes or no – so I can plan. Well here’s the plan – I gotta turn it down because I just don’t think I can do it with just the people that responded. I really need at least 6 more folks. I’m going to assume they can’t do it and turn down the offer even though it breaks my heart and will put the other person out.

I beg of you, if you get an invitation that requires a response – do so, if you please.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

