There are no coincidences with God

Did I ever mention that my mom was a secretary at a retirement home for priests? She was a parish secretary too. And she was also secretary to a priest who worked in youth ministry. She was good at it. And she was good with people. She knew how to deal with all types of personalities. She knew how to deal with people when they were at their best and at their worst.

Dolly was compassionate and caring. She was a wonderful co-worker – at least that’s what her co-workers said. I know she was a good mom and wife because I experienced it first-hand.  Oh she had failings, we all do, but she was a pretty awesome lady.

Why am I reminiscing like this?

Today, I met Mike at church so we could get organized and warmed up for this very sad funeral.  I was telling Mike that I remembered singing at this particular church when my girlfriend got married. Mike said, “ I probably shouldn’t tell you this.” I guess the look on my face reflected the puzzlement that I felt.

Mike said, “When I called here yesterday to see what time we could get in the church this morning, the secretary was great. She answered all my questions and was really helpful. Before I hung up I said thank you and asked her name. It was Dolly.”

I felt that lump in my throat but I also felt that sense of calm. It was a difficult morning, but we got through it with the grace of God and the help of a couple of church secretaries named Dolly.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Friends, Life

One response to “There are no coincidences with God

  1. thetownnews

    We both had Mom moments this week.

Leave a Reply

