God Save The People

For all of my friends and family out there who are too far away or too busy or too tired or just can’t be here for whatever reason any of these show nights – here’s a clip from today’s show.

This was after 4 days of rest and no rehearsal in between. It’s a show that serves as a dress rehearsal but we have a small audience from some of the local elementary schools. I put my little digital camera on the platform, crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. There’s a lot of piano because the amplifier was right behind my camera – but that’s a-ok because Cameron is an awesome pianist! You can hear Neal playing guitar in the beginning and you can hear some of Lou on bass. Every once in a while, you can catch Nathan playing drums – he did a great job today! I’m real proud of him. But mostly I’m proud of the students and their directors who have worked very hard toward these days and nights! I’m kind of sad for those of you who can’t see it in person because it is very well done – better than most high school productions and in the top 5 of the high school shows I’ve done.

Something cool about this show – the director is a graduate of the high school’s theater program and when he was in 8th grade, his school came for a performance like we gave today and the show was Godspell. He’s a pretty incredible person which was evident even back in 1999 when, as a junior, he played Don Quixote in Man of la Mancha. He said that seeing the production of Godspell in 1996 made him think “I want to do that when I get here.”

That production in 1996 was very emotional for us. My brother’s Lou and Neal played bass and guitar. Our friend Paul played drums. The previous October, we had buried our mother. At the luncheon following her funeral, my girlfriend, Susan, who was the director of the many shows I did at our high school, and I stood in front of some wonderful collages that my sister had put together. In the middle of one of them was the insert from our Godspell CD. Our family really loved the show and the album was often played in our home. That’s when Susan said, “I guess we’re going to have to do Godspell in the spring.” Needless to say, my brothers and I shed a lot of tears during the run of that show. 

There are some other cool things about this show – notice a girl with pigtails in a black track suit with pink stripes who sings and dances pretty much in front of my camera and later a girl in a denim skirt and red top. They both had mothers that are alumni of the school and who participated in musical theater productions when they were in school.  Also, the daughter of a former guitar student who played at liturgies back at our old parish. And even cooler – I was able to get the same musicians to play for the show – Lou, Neal and Paul. And even luckier to get my good friend, Nathan, to sub for the shows that Paul couldn’t make. And the cool thing about Nathan – he goes right along with the insanity. He doesn’t get too much time to play or practice but he worked his butt off to do a great job! And the two keyboard players – well I can’t say enough about them. I really am blessed because at church, I have 2, count them – 2, awesome keyboard players and one of them is Cameron and he has done a wonderful job this year. The other keyboard player for this production is the nephew of a friend of my sister and brother-in-law and Ryan does a really nice job as well.

On another note, I spent the afternoon unwinding…
My favorite time on the beach

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Musical Theater

Leave a Reply

