Retreat

Take rest; a field that has rested gives a bountiful crop.
        Ovid (43 BC – 17 AD) nnews.jpg

I am here in Newport News. I was ambivalent about making this trip. I knew it would be a long drive and I had left packing for the last minute. I came home from the gym yesterday and thought “If I don’t do this today, I’ll never do it.” When my brother called to see if I wanted to watch my niece at her gymnastics class, I jumped at the chance. I returned from gymnastics, packed the car, ran some errands and was on the road at 12:30.

I am staying in a 3 bedroom townhouse with 2 nuns who are both PHDs in Psychology. One is a dear friend who I have seen a grand total of 5 times in the last 12 years. It is a blessing to be able to share this time with her. (Right now I’m at a local Starbucks while she works with her clients.)
The other sister is an older woman who is a nurse as well as a psychologist and within the first 10 minutes of our relationship she had given me a book and an introduction to a methodology for controlling the chronic pain that I suffer.
I knew that both sisters would be working for the better part of the day today and that my time with my friend would be limited but this has turned into a mini-retreat.
The room where I sleep doubles as their chapel. I went to bed at 11 last night and slept until 9 – it was amazing!
I am feeling peaceful in the silence. I am feeling God’s presence all around me.
I may never leave.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Retreat

  1. Thank you for reminding me…that I should stop. Sometime soon.

  2. Poor Excuse

    This sounds groovy.

Leave a Reply

