Celebrate

To die is nothing; but it is terrible not to live.
Victor Hugo (1802 – 1885), Les Miserables
dark.jpg

I was going to do a post about Thanksgiving but I just couldn’t get my head around it.
I was going to do a post about the approach of Advent and Christmas but it’s cold and rainy and I want to go back to bed.
I’m unemployed and wasting time like nobody’s business.
I called my therapist and I feel like that is a positive step along with going to the gym this morning. I also prayed my daily prayers.
I called my friend, Pam, and have made plans for a visit mid-week – another positive step.
I am paralyzed with fear and dread – my son is in turmoil because he doesn’t have a college degree and the resume’ he sent for potential employment didn’t present him in a good enough light to even get an interview scheduled so that he could talk through all of the experience he has. My husband is living 450 miles away in a one bedroom/one bath apartment. His company has relocated and he is working there because well, he’s old.
And, oh my God, the most amazing thing happened. I was just talking to may aunt who fell a week ago in center city and sprained and/or fractured her ankle. We had her out here “in the country” for Thanksgiving and took her back yesterday afternoon. We talked about the amazing football game that we watched last night and we talked about her homecoming. And then we talked about this depression and anxiety that has been a little overwhelming lately. And I cried – something I don’t do often enough. And it felt good. And it feels better.
In time s like this, medication helps. And darn it, so does exercise. Those endorphins are powerful critters. Eating right is key as well. A good old-fashioned cry: priceless!
Ok, I ‘m done with my pity party and I’m going to get to work. No Internet until this room is sparkling!

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Celebrate

  1. POP

    Been there,,,, done that.
    Except for the good cry, self pity stinks (I should know) and get’s you nowhere, Call whenever you need me.
    DAD

  2. Self pity is so controlling, it sucks. It sounds like you’re taking every positive step you can, that’s good. Crying is a wonderful thing it does make you feel better, so keep on crying.

    I cry all the time, see how happy I am. (cough-cough)

    My only only advice to you, would be to never crawl back into bed no matter how much you feel like it. I’ve been there and it’s hard to get out of.

    Peace.

  3. Thanks – both of you.

    Update – a $40 co-pay, a dose of the G-Man and I’m good as new – going back to sleep now!

  4. Maybe this will cheer you up… right now, I’m listening to I Wish Every Day Could Be Like Christmas as performed by one Mr. Jon Bon Jovi.

    Just take it one day at a time, and know that this, too, shall pass.

    Oh, and give Dooner my best… I can TOTALLY relate to the no-degree thing. It’s frustrating!

Leave a Reply

