Choose to be Tigger!

May today there be peace within. May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.tigger.jpg

May you use those gifts that you have received and pass on the love that has been given to you. May you be content knowing you are a child of God. Let this presence settle into your bones and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise, and love. It is there for each and every one of us.
Saint Theresa’s Prayer

My friend over at Spanky Strikes Back lost her job. It wasn’t because she wasn’t performing her job. It was because she logged in to a system and GAVE herself work and then completed the work. Her fatal error was that she logged in as someone other than herself.
Spank is smart – really smart with an amazing wit and a way with words. She has had an unbelievably tough time.  She has custody of her two children and her ex-husband doesn’t keep jobs very long so she is often without child support for them. That job she just got fired from, well, that’s their bread and butter. As Spank says, “I have baby raccoons to feed.”
And yet, she keeps her sense of humor all the while wailing inside, worrying about her children’s Christmas.
She has also had to move back in with her mother and while that would be a comfort for most of us, for Spanky – not so much! So Spank has no job, two children, no child support and lives with a mother who is troubled.
Gary posted a comment on her last post and it directed me to a video. Now I usually don’t have time to watch videos at work, especially when I’ve come in early to get work done. This video – this video was the best spent 10 minutes of my life. In 55 years, it is the lecture I wish I had listened to when I was in my 20s. When I was in my mid-30s, I realized that my life hadn’t turned out as I had expected. Unfortunately, the same thought occurred to me this morning as I drove into work in the pouring rain. Here I am, 55, and my life is taking yet another turn that I hadn’t anticipated.
Now, I have to admit, I’ve been feeling sorry for myself and have been allowing myself to feel blue. I vacillate between being excited over a new adventure and feeling very sad about the life changes that I foresee. Anxiety doesn’t even begin to cover it.
But I watched this video and by golly, I’ll watch it again because I’m going to post the link right here. Click where it says: Watch Randy’s famous “Last Lecture.”
And darn it, I choose to be Tigger!

25 Comments

Filed under Life

25 responses to “Choose to be Tigger!

  1. fishgrip

    My Peggi. I love you. I am blue for you and with you. May faith be your guide.

    “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”

    – Ecclesiastes 3

  2. I’m good, I’m good. I got a reality check! Between Spank’s jobless state and this video – I’m wide-awake! And positive.

  3. thetownnews

    “Tigger’s a wonderful fellow” … but he’s “not the only one.” There are plenty of us tiggers around.
    But, give yourself a break if you become Eeyore for a bit. No one’s perfect.
    And Peg, depression isn’t as controllable as we think it is.

  4. Thanks Sue. I will… but I’m talking overall attitude especially at work. I waste a lot of energy complaining. I should just be happy that I have a job and that I love my co-workers and love what I do. See – nothing to complain about!
    Did you watch the video? It’s mandatory! Don’t let the Oprah thing scare you!

  5. Thanks Mamapeg, I usually don’t watch the videos either but after reading your post I watched this one. WOW… how inspiring was that. I agree with everything he says, especially the part about the car and being creative. I’ve been a little down about my job the last few days and I think he cleared some things up for me. I can’t worry about what other people think, I just need to be me. And that’s a tiger, too.

  6. Eeyore’s not alway a downer:

    “It’s snowing still,” said Eeyore gloomily.
    “So it is.”
    “And freezing.”
    “Is it?”
    “Yes,” said Eeyore. “However,” he said, brightening up a little, “we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”

    He just had high expectations for others:

    They haven’t got Brains, any of them, only grey fluff that’s blown into their heads by mistake, and they don’t Think.

    But he had a plan:

    A little Consideration, a little Thought for Others, makes all the difference.

    And hope:

    One can’t complain. I have my friends. Someone spoke to me only yesterday.

    Ok, sure, he complained. But mostly, his delivery was off. See, I’m already putting the Randy Pausch speech to practical use by looking for the best in others … never mind that it’s a fictional character.

  7. See, I’m already putting the Randy Pausch speech to practical use by looking for the best in others.
    Randy kind of put things in perspective. Thanks for putting Eeyore in perspective, Julie!
    Randy offers a positive way to go through life… I spend a lot of time fuming over the idiots with whom I work.

    They haven’t got Brains, any of them, only grey fluff that’s blown into their heads by mistake, and they don’t Think.

    So Cappy, maybe a little Eeyore is ok.

  8. fishgrip

    “While Eeyore frets …
    … and Piglet hesitates
    … and Rabbit calculates
    … and Owl pontificates
    …Pooh just is.”

    — The Tao of Pooh

    “Rabbit’s clever,” said Pooh thoughtfully.
    “Yes,”said Piglet, “Rabit’s clever.”
    “And he has Brain.”
    “Yes,” said Piglet, “Rabbit has Brain.”
    There was a long silence.
    “I suppose,” said Pooh, “that that’s why he never understands anything.”

  9. I’m Rabbit. Some days I’d like to be Pooh – just be. Other days I pretend to be Owl with all my fabricated pontification. I used to be Piglet – afraid of the world. I’m forced into being Kanga – chasing my girls around in the name of their welfare ane safety. I admire Tigger, and all the Tiggers of the world. I’m attracted to them for their boundless energy. But at the end of the day, I’m Rabbit with the exception that I’d never lead Tigger into the forest to deliberately lose him.

    Peg, that prayer has been following me around for years. Maybe I should take a moment and listen to it. You are always on my mind, because before you ever wrote this post, I knew you suffered the this-is-not-quite-what-I-meant-for-my-life syndrome. I suffer the same, but lately, because there must be something in the air, I realized I’ve got something right in front of me at which I succeed. I never meant to be doing it, and I’m constantly looking over it’s head for that thing I meant to be doing. This summer, I actually told a colleague as such. Her reply, “None of us ever expects to be here. But while you’re here, you might as well do your best.”

    Don’t give up on those dreams. Ever. I hear you can cash in on the other side. Here, we’ll get tired and old and mutter about that thing we wanted to do with our lives, but don’t let go. There’s reason for everything. That seed in our heads, it won’t go to waste.

  10. Wow Peg….you said some really nice things about me. I appreciate it. And whil i think i am perceived as a heffalump….deep deep down i know i am really truely kanga. when i was little i had a scratcha and sniff pooh bear book and i read it so many times the sniff part was all worn out. but the book had a Kanga part in it, baking cookies and stuff and i thought to myself…i wish Kanga was my mom. since that could not be the case…i try (and many times fail) to be Kanga for my kids. thank you for this post. you make me braver than i am on my own. xxoo

  11. You know I oft times ask myself “how did i get here?” usually while i am in the shower. and the answer is always the same. the choices I made have ultimately led me to this place. Some of it nice, some of it a challange, and never ever boring.

    sometimes I fancy myself a writer, beause you know…7 people read my little retard blog, that means i have some raw hollywood talent.

    sometimes i aman actess, because lets face it, i have acted my whole life in some form or another.

    sometimes i am a lotto winner. no explanation needed there

    sometimes I am Jessica, single mother of two, who will struggle financially for the next 15 years, but when she looks at her little raccoons, it will have all been worth it.

    damn, that coulda been an american express commercial. shit. i should write commercials.

  12. apparently i am NEVER a good typist

  13. My sister’s kids used to assign us all 100 acres characters. They made me Rabbit. But, that’s not me. I hate gardening. I’m Pooh. I wish I were Owl, but I’m Pooh. The test agrees:

    http://www.half-asleep.com/pooh/interact/quiz/quiz.php

  14. OMG! I’m not Rabbit!!! Yeah! I’m Kanga!!!! I really didn’t want to be Rabbit. That was so mean what he did to Tigger. I’ll take the Kanga result any day.

    Of course, this comes to me after a night of screaming and yelling at my stinking gymnasts for a having an “off” day. Their reply was that they go home and cry after practice. I told them I am the one they need to cry to. I said I’d fix their tears right up! 15 push-ups always makes me stop crying. Moreso because I’m out of breath afterward and cannot cry when I’m out of breath.

    I think I will drift off to sleep with happy thoughts of Kanga. Time to embrace the Kanga within!!!!

  15. Sissy, we are kindred spirits, yet again. I am Kanga!
    Spank, you and Heather amaze me because of your sheer tenacity and ability to accept the cards you have been dealt – kicking and screaming, but with humor and grace.
    Julie, you are continually an inspiration. Were it not for http://julieluongo.wordpress.com, I wouldn’t have had the guts to use this as a creative outlet… and I wouldn’t have found such cool blogging buddies.
    My sister and my thithtaw – you guys ROCK!

  16. And, Spank, forget about the typing skills – it truly is the thought that counts – and you have wonderful thoughts and an uncanny ability to coherently communicate them! I love your little retard blog. and your commercials

  17. Yeah for PEG!!!!!!

    You must be my long lost mum.

  18. Heather

    (((Peg.)))

    Love-ah the Peg.

  19. (sigh)

    This is so touching. Spank is my sis. You know how that goes. Spank never listens to me when I tell her how awesome she is. Thanks, Peg, for caring so much about a person who truly deserves the world to embrace her.

    And, Jules, think about it. None of us would be here if it weren’t for you. It’s the trickle effect. We will be your best groupies!!!!! Damaged. But at our best.

  20. Andy

    Peg,
    I have been dealt good and bad fortune at times in my life and I suffer through long boughts of depression. Not the “I am going to lay in my bed…call an ambulence because I am opening a vein” kind. More like the..sun rises..wake up…long sigh…first thought…I am so tired of being sad…second thought…I wish I didn’t feel this way…third thought darker and creepier…fourth thought Crap, I can’t worry about myself today, I have to go to work and take care of my family and I need to carry on with my life. I often think at times like these. I am just going to perservere and everything will be OK, or when my Mother was really sick, it can’t get worse so it must soon get better, and it would get worse, a lot worse, or when my Father died. Shit I can think of a million times that I would love to pull the covers over my head and not show up for my life. It really stinks and I vacilate between thinking, diffacult things have taken place and it is normal to be sad and thinking “my friend you need immediate medical attention”. I have just started to get honest about the fact that I am unhappy, at a state of unrest, needing help, seeking some and I am starting to feel a little better. The fact is that I am a little dark as a lot of comic type figures are, I am that clown who makes people laugh and is crying inside. I have to come to a peace inside myself and say, hell I am going to be the best person I can be. I don’t know who that is just now but I will strive for that. I have found people incredibly willing to help you when you submit to the fact that you need help. At the end of the day I am a man, it’s not cool to say you need help, or your sorry or I am hurting. Since I have been through the lose of my folks I am sad a lot of the time. My family are flying to Europe today and we were trying to explain to our son, that he is going to see his “Pa Pa” my wife’s Dad. His response is that “he can’t see him, he’s gone”, he’s way up ing the sky with the angels. Now obsiously he is retelling the explaination we give him about his Grandpa, my Dad. He is gone to heaven, he’s up in the sky, with the angels. Now, at that moment, my heart breaks, all over again but I also think isn’t it nice that he misses him too, that he is disapointed we can’t see him anymore. So I told him, when your flying to Europe, look out the window and look for Grandpa with the angels, maybe you’ll see him, and someday we will get to see him again. I struggle with all the tenents of our faith but I beleive that there is a Gad in heaven and there is a plan for me and I know that I don’t know. I am not falling into the trap of, my paster, my priest, my spiritual advisor, tells me it’s so, so it is so. I don’t understand or comprehend the mind of God but I know, all coins have two sides and sometimes, it’s tails, but sometimes, God damn it it is heads too. I think that God exist, and if I’m right, he wants me to be happy and to enjoy the “heads up” times that life gives me and I try that, and sometimes “you recieve” and you want like hell to punt, and it sucks. I hate to hear myself complain too, and I do it, that is safe territory for a guy, my boss sucks, my job sucks this policy sucks, this customer sucks and I hear myself saying this stuff and I hate it. I will see the look in peoples faces sometimes, saying this guy is a drip, who cares or eyes roll like..get on with it. But things change in the time it takes them to change and not in a convienient timeline that I approve and I try to remember that. Hell I am lucky, lucky to be alive, lucky my own stupidity didn’t kill me, my misadventures didn’t kill me or someone else. I have a wife who cares about me and two sons who love me and shit I have one sweet as red 1949 longbed, GMC that needs to be restored by Chris and I so hell, I have to live. I love you Peg, I still remeember when you sold me down the river with Lou about my drinking and I love you for that. We have been through a lot and sometimes life is hard, I am just glad I am not the only one feeling sorry for myself and complaining about it – Oh yeah, I too am lucky to have a job, make good money and I just won an all expense trip to Switzerland and Italy! Keep complaining about this stuff it keeps the focus off me! I have so much to be thankful for despite all life’s hardships and a lot of the time I choose to complain, I take the low road, and wallow in my own self pity, and feel sorry for myself. My feet are made of clay, I am human and born to make mistakes, I will never be perfect, I can only strive to get better. I am officially giving you permission to also me human right now, your welcome. I love you Peg.

  21. I’m glad I dimed you out, brother!
    I love you too!
    And I want you to swing by my crib in that sweet ride so I can feast my sorry eyes on life being lived to the fullest!

  22. Oh, and Andy, here are some more safe havens –
    Sue’s house: http://thetownnews.wordpress.com/ and Denise’s house: http://denisepetti.wordpress.com/

    Lots of great stuff there too.

  23. vicki

    I’d like to think I’m a tigger, but who am I kidding? Being incapable, of leaving an unhappy work situation for 17 years , I guess I have a bit of “pooh” in me. I see myself stuck in that hole in the wall of rabbits house one foot on the ground and my head stuck out in space hoping someone will come and rescue me, oooh, if only I could reach that pot of honey. Where’s owl when you need him, anyway?

  24. Flouncing Floozy

    Oh Bother!!! I’m Pooh!!! *sigh*… I guess thats not a bad thing….?

Leave a Reply

