Ignore it

All you need in this life is ignorance and confidence; then success is sure.
Mark Twain (1835 – 1910), Letter to Mrs Foote, Dec. 2, 1887
roots.jpgI have a way of dealing with life that surely isn’t healthy but I ignore it.
Stress – I ignore it. Weight gain, I ignore it. Anger, I ignore it. Disappointment, I ignore it. Sadness, I ignore it.
I usually try to ignore depression and anxiety, but sometimes, I can’t. Everyday, I get up, go to work and do what I need to do. It’s easy to ignore what eats at you when you have a task or goal. On the weekends, it’s harder to stay focused because I don’t HAVE to do anything.
I dread doing grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning the house. I hate to buy clothes and shoes. I hate the malls – in fact they freak me out. I never go by myself anymore.
I’ve always been able to keep up with the extra-curricular stuff. Rehearsals for shows and church, but lately, I’ve been putting that stuff off too.
I’m in a bad place but I’m ignoring it.
Don’t get me wrong… I still have so much joy – more than can be listed here. I thrive on that joy. I don’t ignore the joy. My nieces and nephews are a constant source of joy. My husband and son still make me laugh and feel safe. My brothers and sister, my in-laws, all make me smile broadly.
Medication helps, but sometimes the darkness is overwhelming. I don’t sleep well and then I’m cranky. I ignore it. My co-workers and family – it can’t be easy for them. I ignore that too.

6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “Ignore it

  1. thetownnews

    Who said “ignorance is bliss”? Liar! It doesn’t sound like it’s working for you. I’m here.

  2. Screw the laundry, the housework, and the shopping. Get take-out, put your feet up, and watch comedies.

    I say, embrace the lazy and fight the blues with things that make you laugh. I watched old Kids in the Hall sketches after my foray into the darkness of shopping today and it helped.

  3. I do have many laughs! Maybe that’s how I heal….

  4. fishgrip

    When you stare down darkness and say “you have no power over me”, I don’t think that’s ignorance, I think that’s courage.

  5. Ahh, so all those times you say you can’t hear me, you’re really just ignoring me! I get it now!

    :)

  6. Dayv, Imma pretend like you didn’t say that, k?

Leave a Reply

