Two Easy Dishes

You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.
Julia Child (1912 – 2007)

Getting ready for a block party in my brother’s neighborhood. I had to bring two of my favorite dishes. 

The first is:

Buffalo Chicken Dip

2 boneless chicken breasts shredded (I just used Purdue Short Cuts and shredded in my food processor)

2 8oz cream cheese

1 cup of ranch or blue cheese dressing

2 cups of Frank’s Hot Sauce

1-2 cups of cheddar cheese

Microwave the cream cheese, salad dressing and hot sauce for 2 minutes, Stir, Microwave another two minutes. Stir.

Dump it all into a crock pot, mix with chicken and cheddar cheese. Heat it up.

Serve with Fritos scoops or a hearty chip and Celery sticks.

The second is:

Hot Kimchi Pickle –  4 servings

1 large cucumber thinly sliced

½ teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon sesame oil

2 cloves garlic, smashed

½ teaspoon hot pepper flakes

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

In a bowl, toss the cucumber slices with the salt. Let stand for 15 minutes; drain.

Add the vinegar, sugar, sesame oil, garlic, hot pepper flakes and cayenne.

Toss to combine.

Looking forward to a fun day of good food, good music and good folks!

11 Comments

Filed under Food

11 responses to “Two Easy Dishes

  1. Oh, I forgot to mention something. Both of these recipes, yah, I got them from two guys I work with. They made the dishes. I liked the dishes. I pwn them now!

  2. That chicken looks delish!!!

    here is a recipe for a baked potato topping. I heart baked potato.

    Baked Potato Topping

    2 sticks salted butter (softened)
    3/4 container of large DAISY sour cream
    1 8 or 10 oz pkg of cheddar cheese
    fresh chives
    Green onions
    Kosher salt about 1 tspn
    Ground black pepper to taste

    Soften butter, add sour cream, and cheddar cheese mix on medium speed until combined about 2 minutes. Cut about 3 tablespoons green onion tops and
    about 1 teaspoon chives. Add salt and pepper mix another minute and put in fridge to chill for several hours.

    Enjoy.

  3. Here is another crowd fav

    2 blocks cream cheese
    1 jar of salsa
    1 bag of shredded cheese (cheddar jack)

    put in bowl and mix well with blender. chill and serve with tortilla chips. numma nummma good

  4. I am convinced that cream cheese is magical. As long as you’re not lactose intolerant, cream cheese is the greatest invention since sliced bread!
    You could mix dog shit with cream cheese and it would taste great!

  5. spanky

    dog shit and cream cheese lol

  6. This looks yummy! I recently discovered the recipe for Emeril’s Essence. I whipped up a batch and use it on EVERYTHING! The cool thing about the essence is that it changes flavor according to the food you are using it with so that it’s not like I’m putting the same taste into all my foods. I even added it to my beef vegetable soup earlier this week. Deeee-lish!!

  7. I think I killed this post.

  8. Flouncing Floozy

    Your kim-chee recipe can be used on any veggies… fresh zucchini, cabbage, cauliflower, bell peppers green and red…. its awesome. Throw in some nice onion and you’ve got it made in the shade!

  9. thetownnews

    That buffalo chicken dip you brought over for the eags game a few weeks ago burned rubber in my colon the next day.

Leave a Reply

