Quirks (or I just haven’t got much to say today)

Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature…. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. Helen Keller

7.jpg

I got tagged on my Yahoo 360. Yeah, I’m there too! It’s because of my addiction to Pyramids. I play a lot. I’m even in a league. Heck, I’m even a head Tournament Director in a league.
In any case, you were supposed to tell 7 things about yourself – things that no one would know… presumably.
So I got to thinking of a few little weirdities – ok maybe more than a few – about myself and it occurred to me that the weirdest is one I wasn’t even aware of:
I play a game of Free Cell every day and if I win, I can expect a good day, if I lose, not so much. I sometimes play after midnight if I wake up in the middle of the night – and that counts! It also helps me fall asleep because I can then look forward to a good day. If I lose, I usually don’t fall back to sleep easily.
It got me thinking about other quirks, like when I’m conducting a show… I have to have a BaggieÒ of those little hard pretzel nuggets to snack on and a large pontoon of water. I don’t eat before a performance. I also bring a load of Pixy StixÒ. Everyone in the pit gets them. It turns even the stuffiest musician into a complete idiot. We have a Pixy StixÒ toast before each act.
I had a friend who was manic about his props. Before each show, he would go through the show mentally, checking to see if his props were exactly where they should be. That’s probably not a bad thing, given that if they weren’t in the right place, he’d have been up a creek without the proverbial paddle.
I have a friend who counts in 7s. Everything is 1-2-3-4-5-6-7. It’s not annoying at all because she does it silently. It’s just a thing for her. When she can’t sleep, she counts 7s on the clock LED. It helps her fall asleep. She is my sister’s sister-in-law.
My sister and another one of her sisters-in-law are knee or thumb writers. They use their index finger to trace what they’re saying on their knee or thumb. Again, it’s not annoying because they don’t make a big deal out of it and you’d never know they were doing it.
Kind of like that Free Cell thing…

5 Comments

Filed under Fact is stranger than fiction, Friends, Life

5 responses to “Quirks (or I just haven’t got much to say today)

  1. Heather

    Pixy Stix are no joke. Who did you tag in return? HMMMMMM? Methinks there are plenty of people in your blogging world who maybe never get tagged, and are jealous and sad now. HMMMMMM?

  2. Julie P and I were obsessed with FreeCell. We used to share a computer and we had a quest. I’d heard that every game could be won, so we were playing the games in order (you know how you can pick a game by #). We marked them off when we conquered the game. Sometimes we’d get stuck and it would take days of both of us trying to beat a game. We’d gotten up pretty high by the time we moved.

    Now that I think of it, I probably shouldn’t have told you that every game can be won. But if FreeCell is a metaphor for life, it’s hopeful, right? Even the toughest problem can be solved…and every day can be a good day if you try hard enough.

  3. Heather

    I am not coveting your tag. Or Sissy’s abs. See me not covet.

  4. Julie, you’d be surprised how well you play when you’re playing for your life!

  5. spanky

    i had a solitaire and a tetris problem. neither require much skill, but were highly addictive. I finially had to give my gameboy away and remove solitaire from my computer

Leave a Reply

